With a strong response to the idea of showcasing past photos, The Tribune is running a weekly feature called “Throwback Thursday.”

The Tribune will display photos from past Jackson County athletics.

We would like your photos and memories. Please email sports editor Jordan Morey at jmorey@tribtown.com or call him at 812-523-7069.

(Following information is for this week’s feature)

The Medora boys basketball 1948-1949 sectional champions.

This is the only team to win a sectional title in the Hornets’ basketball history. The Hornets defeated the Freetown Spartans 49-38 to win the 1949 Seymour Sectional.

In the team photo are, front row from left, Richard Dixon, Jim Smith, Bill Eastin, Ralph Thompson and Tom Fleenor; back row from left, Dale Shepard, Bill Koepper, Junior Lane, Don Huffman, Norman Huffman, Don Beavers, Tom Cockerham and coach Arthur Mose Weddell.

Brad McCammon, athletic director at Medora, submitted this week’s photo to The Tribune.

Author photo
Jordan Morey is sports editor at The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at jmorey@tribtown.com or 812-523-7069.