Two appointed to foundation’s board

Staff reports

The Community Foundation of Jackson County recently appointed two new members to its board of directors.

Both are familiar faces with the foundation and the county.

Michael Fleetwood, director-in-charge of Blue and Co. LLC’s Southern Indiana practice unit based in Seymour, and Dennis Wayman, president of State Bank of Medora, were appointed to three-year terms effective this spring.

Story continues below gallery

Both have served as foundation directors in the past. They will continue to serve on the foundation’s finance and investment committee.

The 2015-16 officers of the board of directors remain the same: Denise Connell of Vallonia, chairwoman; Gary Meyer of Seymour, vice chairman; Ray Eakins of Seymour, treasurer; and Priscilla Wischmeier of Seymour, secretary.

Other returning board members are John Beatty, Susan Bevers, Kevin Gabbard, Tom Lantz, Jim Plump, Andy Royalty and Ron Sibert, all of Seymour; Trish Butt, Dr. Ron Harrison and Sue Nehrt, all of Brownstown; Jim Johnson of Deputy; and Darrell Persinger of Medora.

The Community Foundation of Jackson County was created in 1992 and made its first grants in 1994. Since then, the foundation has awarded nearly $5 million in grants and scholarships across Jackson County.

The charitable nonprofit administers more than 140 funds with assets of more than $10 million.

For information about how you can make a donation to any of the funds administered by the foundation or how you might start a new fund, call 812-523-4483 or email Dan Davis, president and chief executive officer, at