Driver defends race title at Brownstown

Staff reports

Brownstown Speedway conducted the 11th annual Hall of Fame Classic racing event Saturday.

Seymour’s Jeremy Hines took home the victory for the second consecutive year after charging to the front from his 11th starting spot in the P3 Graphix Super Late Model feature event.

Hines battled West Chester, Ohio, driver Josh Rice for the victory. Matt Bex (Avoca), Joe Janowski (Fishers) and Cody Mahoney (Hanover) completed the top five.

Mahoney was awarded the P3 Graphix hard charger award for advancing from his 21st starting spot to a fifth place finish during the 30-lap feature event.

The Indiana Late Model Series Pro Late Models also competed on the evening’s racing card, with Franklin’s Steve Barnett getting the feature win.

Barnett, a Brownstown Speedway Hall of Fame member, charged from his 10th starting spot to get the victory in a competitive ILMS Pro Late Model feature.

He was followed by Joe Janowski (Fishers), Steve Godsey (Bedford), Adam Bowman (Seymour) and Grant Garrison (Walton, Kentucky) at the finish. Joe Godsey (Edinburgh) took the win in Fast Max Modified action.

Godsey has four victories for the year at the speedway.

Seymour’s Tyler Cain notched his eighth feature win for 2015 in Woolston Automotive Super Stock action.

Austin Burton (Edinburgh) parked his ride in victory lane for the 5th time this season in the Drain Master Drain & Sewer Service Hornet division.

Each year during the Hall of Fame Classic new members are inducted into the Brownstown Speedway Hall of Fame.

This year’s class of inductees included drivers Kevin Claycomb (Vincennes), Marty O’Neal (Martinsville), car owner Claude Kern (Bedford) and crew chief/mechanic Jim Curry Jr. (Norman).

Deceased car owner/driver Bob Ratcliff (Cortland) also was inducted.