Seven county seniors named ‘commended students’

Seven Jackson County seniors have been named “Commended Students” in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are Brownstown Central High School’s Hannah D. Gallion, Lute A. Lahrman and Tyler J. Lawson; Seymour High School’s Hao Li and Josiah C. Rudge; and Trinity Lutheran High School’s Ethan Neawedde and Luke Onken.

A letter of commendation from their schools and National Merit Scholarship Corp., which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

Although they will not continue in the 2016 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2016 competition by taking the 2014 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.