School administrators to be honored

Two Jackson County school administrators will be recognized later this month by the Indiana Association of School Principals.

During a ceremony Nov. 20, Catherine DuBois, assistant principal at Seymour High School, will receive the District 9 Assistant Principal of the Year award.

Then Nov. 22, Joe Sheffer, principal at Brownstown Central High School, will be presented the District 9 High School Principal of the Year award.

Both ceremonies will be at the Indianapolis Marriott Downtown and conducted during fall professional conferences.

For both awards, the recipients are elected by their peers. One person is honored from each of the state’s 12 districts, and from these 12 district winners, one will be announced as the state winner during each ceremony.

District 9 is located in south-central Indiana and made up of Bartholomew, Brown, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Monroe and Morgan counties.

The Indiana Association of School Principals is a nonprofit professional association serving more than 2,600 building-level administrators in the state.