Phi Beta Psi

A “Tribute to Our Founders” was given by Jackie Hill at the recently combined February social and business meeting at the Community Foundation of Jackson County.

Hill said the Phi Beta Psi sorority was founded Feb. 15, 1904, in Columbus, Ohio. Lighting candles representing the six founders were Jamie Mathis and Kristy Gabbard.

Twenty members attended wearing either red or white, which represented their Spirit Club team color. Each item they wore counted as a point toward their team score. Photos were taken.

The Spirit Club auction will be conducted at the March 21 combined meeting. Beckie Anderson and Stephanee Roberts are hostesses. Auction proceeds will go toward the June party.

Assisting President Joan Trimpe were Jennifer Payton, Taryn Rockey, Kalee Alberring, Mary Reynolds and Janet Cooper.

Michele Lewis reported about the 44th annual dinner-dance, where Emma Wood was named queen. The six contestants collected $9,600.33, which will be added to the dinner-dance ticket profits and forwarded to the sorority’s national project, cancer research.

The sweetheart basket was won by Darren Collett, and the $1,860 proceeds went to Alice Draves, a local woman currently undergoing chemotherapy and radiation treatments for her cancer.

The Spring Basket Bingo will be April 19 at the American Legion Annex. Co-chairs are Cooper, Anderson, Melanie Klakamp, Payton, Angi Reynolds and Cori Vaughn.

Prospective members were discussed and will be voted on at the March 21 meeting. Trimpe named Alberring and Gabbard to the investigative committee.

Sorority T-shirt orders must be turned in and paid to Alberring.

Plans are being made to have a taco salad, nacho/cheese and dessert food tent at the Hen and Chicks Barn Market from 3 to 8 p.m. April 29 and from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. April 30 at 5602 E. County Road 100N, Seymour.

THETO was awarded to Mary Reynolds.

Hostesses Hill, Mathis and Gabbard served a vegetable tray, desserts and drinks while the members took their annual review quiz.

Door prizes were won by Angi Reynolds, Mary Reynolds, Anderson, Karen Schepman and Kathleen Johnson.