Let’s try this again …

The Brownstown Speedway will try for the second time this season to run the 19th Annual Indiana Icebreaker tonight. The event, featuring the touring Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series in a $12,000 to win, 60-lap race, also will have the Indiana Pro Late Models and UMP Modifieds on the race program. Both of those feature races will pay $1,000 to win.

Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion Jonathan Davenport continues to lead the series points after last weekend’s events in Georgia and Alabama. Davenport leads Hall of Famer Scott Bloomquist by 215 points in the chase for the 2016 title.

Davenport scored his series leading sixth win last Saturday night at East Alabama Motor Speedway in Phenix City, Alabama. Davenport is the defending Jackson 100 winner at Brownstown.

There will be a complete show the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series with time trials, heat races, B-mains and the 60-lap feature race.

For more information on tonight’s Indiana Icebreaker at Brownstown you can visit the track’s website at brownstownspeedway.com or call the track office at 812-358-5332.

Defending champ wins season opener

Defending Indiana Pro Late Model Champion Marty O’Neal picked up where he left off last season, winning the season opener for the division April 2 at the Brownstown Speedway. O’Neal drives a car owned by Larry Hartwell of North Vernon. Britan Godsey finished second, followed by Steve Barnett, Steven Godsey and Edgar Godsey.In other action at Brownstown, Victor Lee won the Modified feature over Jamie Lomax, Chad Combs, Jason Thomas and Jacoby Hines.

This week in local racing history

Defending track champion Paul Crockett opened the 1976 racing season at Brownstown Speedway by winning the Late Model Feature. Carl Collins finished second, followed by Gary Barrow, Jack Smith of Columbus and Jim Graves.In the Hobby Stock division, Chuck Gilpin of Columbus won the main event. It was Gilpin’s first win at Brownstown. Russ Smiley was second, followed by Ed Covey, Fred Qualkenbush and Ed Hall.

James Essex is the motorsports columnist for The Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send

comments to jmorey@tribtown.com.