The Seymour FFA chapter held its annual banquet April 13 at The Pines Evergreen Room.

The event is designed to reward members for their participation and accomplishments throughout the year. In addition, parents, administrators and supporters are recognized for their contributions to chapter success throughout the year.

The 2015-16 Seymour chapter officer team and committee members led the program. The keynote speaker was Indiana State FFA Northern Region Vice President Brett Roberts.

All members were recognized for their participation in career development event contests such as soils and livestock evaluation; leadership contests such as parliamentary procedure and public speaking; and community service projects such as the community garden, fifth-grade Ag Day, county fair FFA building service and packing the meals for Helping the Hungry, to name a few.

Honorary degree of membership is awarded to supporters in recognition for their service to the chapter. This year’s recipients include agriculture advisory board member Troy Hehman, Casey and Melanie Ritz for their support in multiple chapter activities over the past three years and Micah Wallace for her commitment to developing the new middle school FFA and agriculture program.

Members recognized for their outstanding commitment include Amelia Gay, outstanding seventh-grader; Lyra Claycamp and Sydney Wiesehan, outstanding eighth-graders; Paige Kestler, outstanding freshman; Megan Ritz, Star Greenhand Award; Zack Ellerman and Marshall Claycamp, outstanding sophomores; Kyle Claycamp, Amanda Stahl Memorial Standout Sophomore; Jacoby Begley, outstanding junior; Levi Claycamp, outstanding senior; Olivia Lee, outstanding service; Mollie Borcherding, member of the year; and Morgan Ritz, DeKalb Outstanding Agriculture Accomplishment Award.

The National FFA Organization is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

For information, contact Jeanna Eppley or Micah Wallace at Seymour High School at 812-522-4384.