Taylorsville driver gets milestone win

It was a memorable night for two Bartholomew County dirt track racers on April 23 at the Brownstown Speedway.

With more than 150 racecars on hand for the five divisions of racing, Tim Eddelman of Taylorsville won his first feature event at Brownstown after 16 years of trying. Devin Gilpin of Columbus rolled to his first Modified feature win of the season — and the 50th of his career — at the Jackson County Fairgrounds track.

Other winners April 23 included Kent Robinson of Bloomington in the Super Late Models, Troy Clark of North Vernon in the Pure Stocks and John Mayer Jr. of Edinburgh in the Hornet division.

Eddelman started third in the Super Stock main event, took the lead on Lap 4 and led the rest of the way for the victory.

“The car was on a rail,” he said. “It was only our second race of the year and the competition at Brownstown is stout in our class. The track was smooth and racy. You could run anywhere on it. I just hit the setup on the nose and it feels great to finally get a win at Brownstown.”

Eddelman’s sponsors are Tyree’s Trim Shop, Kroot Steel Corporation, Pieman Speed Shop and Wedan Street Performance.

Aubrey Eagin of Bedford was second to Eddelman in the feature, followed by David Brewer of Seymour, Dave Shelton of Brownstown and Jamey Wilson from Seymour.

Gilpin, who split time in his grandfather Don Fleetwood’s Modified and Jim Beeman’s Late Model, captured the Modified feature over Josh Harris of Utica, Kentucky, Richie Lex of Morgantown, Ken Schrader of Concord, North Carolina, and Victor Lee of Danville, Kentucky.

The Gilpin and Fleetwood Modified is sponsored by Dasco Race Supply, Impressive Race Cars, Mike Shell Racing Engines, Vallery Chevrolet, Bane Logging and IndSolTech.

Robinson driving the JB’s Salvage, Club 29 racecar, took the lead on the last lap of the Ultimate Battle of the Bluegrass Late Model Feature. Robinson’s third career Late Model win at Brownstown was worth $3,000.

Gilpin finished a close second, followed by Bedford’s Greg Johnson, Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Kentucky and Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Kentucky. There were 36 Late Models on hand for the event.

Clark beat out a solid field of entrants to win the Pure Stock main event. Derek Clegg of Nabb finished second, followed by Jeff Patterson of North Vernon, Jim Ruddick of Seymour and Tim Rivers of Salem.

Mayer was very impressive in winning the Hornet main event. He battled from his 11th starting spot to take the lead late in the race. Donnie Modesty of Seymour was second, followed by Wesley Napier of New Washington, Todd Cain of Columbus and Gregg O’Neill of Mooresville.

Coming up tonight at Brownstown will be a Modified special along with the Indiana Pro Late Models, Pure Stocks, Super Stocks and Hornets.

Moffatt gets 1st win of season

Defending Sprint Car track champion Joss Moffatt of Columbus captured his first feature win of the season April 23 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. It was Moffatt’s fourth career win at the track. He was followed by Nick Bilbee, Garrett Abrams, Michael Fischesser and Dickie Gaines.Moffatt’s Maxim Chassis is powered by a Williams Precision Engine Chevrolet 410 cubic inch motor. His sponsors include Future Tool and Engineering, Orville Wright Motorsports, Center City Collision, Momentum Racing Suspensions, Hoosier Tires, Simpson Race Products and KT’s Racing Services.

James Essex is the motorsports columnist for The Republic, a sister paper of The Tribune. Send comments to jmorey@tribtown.com.