IUPUC recognizes 294 graduates

Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus’ 46th annual commencement was May 7 in the Columbus East High School gymnasium.

The celebration involved 294 graduates, five more than in 2015.

The keynote speaker for the commencement celebration was Laura M. Hurt, who currently served as president of Our Hospice of South Central Indiana.

Also addressing the Class of 2016 was Courtney Lynn Seiwert, an undergraduate student of the Division of Liberal Arts and recipient of the 2016 Chancellor’s Scholar Award. The annual award is given to the student with the highest cumulative grade-point average as determined by their school or division.

The graduates from Jackson and Jennings counties by hometown are:

Brownstown: Crystil Kellogg, Tessa Lyn Ray, Spencer Isaac Roberts

Crothersville: Hayden E. Hinton

Freetown: Brittany Cockerham

North Vernon: Victoria Brooke Brewer, Christopher Jennings Burnett, Ashley Nicole Gholson, Jacqueline Ann Hartman, MaKayla Dawn Marksberry, Philip W. Marsh, Katie Alexandria Morin, Mackenzey Kristine Shatto

Seymour: Chelsee Marie Adams, Michael Ayers, Bradley Wayne Dobbs, Randall J. Eckelman, Billie Edwards, KerriJo Lynn Edwards, Jennifer Michelle Hirtzel, Jason Kincer, Jennifer Monroe, Debbie V. Morante, Spencer Ray Parrish, Scott Tyler Reinhart, Eric Rhodes, Seth William Thompson, Maggie Makala Willman

Vernon: Nicolas Joe Ezzo