Filing period to fill ballot vacancies ends in 10 days

Recent filings by two candidates have helped local Democrats fill vacancies on the Nov. 8 general election ballot with only 10 days left in the filing period.

One of the two new filings involves a Brownstown man who has 12 years of experience for the office he is seeking.

“I took a little time off but have never gotten away from the issues,” Andy Fountain said.

Fountain recently filed for one of the Democratic Party’s nominations for an at-large county council seat. He previously served on the county council from 1999 to 2010.

Kurt Fenneberg, a political newcomer from Seymour, also recently filled the party’s nomination for the District 1 commissioner’s race.

Fountain joins Democrats Kathy Schafstall of Seymour and Steve Ritter of Norman in the race for the three at-large county council seats. The Republican candidates are Ann Cain of Seymour, Dave Hall of Norman and John Nolting of Brownstown.

Fountain said he has missed being involved in county government.

“I enjoyed my 12 years and want to be involved again,” he said.

He said he knows there are some issues, including overcrowding at the jail and the need for a building to house Jackson Superior Court II, that need to be addressed.

“Finding a way to pay for these things is going to be key,” he said.

Fenneberg, who could not be reached for comment, will face Republican Drew Markel of Seymour for the District 1 commissioner seat presently held by Republican Jerry Hounshel, who did not seek his party’s nomination in the primary.

The Democrats still have ballot vacancies for treasurer, Jackson Superior Court II judge and surveyor.

Republican newcomer Roger Hurt beat incumbent Treasurer Maria Fisher for the party’s nomination for that seat. Incumbent Jackson Superior Court II Judge Bruce MacTavish of Seymour, incumbent Republican surveyor Dan Blann of Brownstown and incumbent auditor Kathy Hohenstreiter of Seymour all ran unopposed.

Other races on the ballot include District 2 commissioner, which features two newcomers, Republican Bob Gillaspy and Democrat Bradley D. Smith, both of Seymour, and coroner, which features Republican Mike Bobb and Democrat Andy Rumph, both of Seymour.

The deadline for candidates from the Republican and Democratic parties to file for vacancies created by the primary is noon June 30.

On July 27, school board candidates for seats with Seymour Community Schools, Medora Community Schools and Crothersville Community Schools may begin filing at the clerk’s office at the courthouse in Brownstown.

At a glance

The filing period for the Democratic and Republican parties to fill ballot vacancies created by the May 3 primary election is noon June 30. To file, visit the Jackson County Clerk’s Office in the courthouse at 111 S. Main St., Brownstown.

Author photo
Aubrey Woods is editor of The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at or 812-523-7051.