6 people vying for 3 at-large spots on Jackson County Council

Six names will be on the general election ballot for the Jackson County Council at-large race.

The top three vote-getters in the Nov. 8 election will begin their service with the council at the beginning of 2017.

John Nolting of Brownstown, Ann Cain of Seymour and Dave Hall of Norman received the most votes among the six Republican candidates in the May primary.

Kathy Schafstall of Seymour and Steve Ritter of Norman were the only two Democrats in the primary election, while Democrat Jack “Andy” Fountain of Brownstown filed his candidacy in June.

The seven-member county council has the ultimate decision-making power regarding fiscal affairs. It has the authority to determine policy and set priorities for the allocation and expenditure of county funds. The other four members each represent a county district.

This year in Jackson County, each council member’s salary is $6,910.44.

Read the full story and find a Q&A feature in Saturday’s Tribune and online at tribtown.com.

Author photo
Zach Spicer is a reporter for The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at zspicer@tribtown.com or 812-523-7080.