Tribune brings home state awards


The staff of The Tribune was honored Saturday with 10 awards during the 2016 Hoosier State Press Foundation Better Newspaper contest.

The Tribune finished third in the General Excellence category, which is based on points accumulated by newspapers in the 30 individual categories by division.

The Tribune competed in Division 3 for newspapers with paid circulation less than 6,000.

Overall, Tribune staffers won five first-place, three second-place and six third-place awards during the 50th annual awards banquet at the Indianapolis Marriott North hotel.

The contest period covered entries between July 1, 2015, to June 30, 2016.

The Tribune’s winning entries were:

First place

Best News Coverage under Deadline Pressure: Staff for “Disbelief,” an account of a murder-suicide in March at Cummins Seymour Technical Center

Best Use of Graphics: Staff

Best Sports Section: Staff

Best Special Section: Staff for “Colors of Hope”

Best Community Service: Staff for “Pre-election coverage”

Second place

Best Ongoing News Coverage: Staff for ongoing coverage of the murder-suicide at Cummins Seymour Technical Center

Best Editorial Page: Staff

Best Newspaper Design: Staff


Best News Coverage with No Deadline Pressure: Zach Spicer for “Celebrating courage”

General Excellence: Staff

Author photo
Aubrey Woods is editor of The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at or 812-523-7051.