BISMARCK, N.D. — North Dakota Gov. Doug Burgum has appointed seven citizen members to the newly formed commission to study initiated and referred measures.

The members are Nick Archuleta of Mandan, Ellen Chaffee of Bismarck, Kirsten Diederich of Fargo, Robert Hale of Minot, Sara Meier of Carson, Jonathan Sickler of Grand Forks and Conner Swanson of Fargo.

The 19-member commission will look into the process and cost of placing initiated and referred measures on the ballot in North Dakota and campaigning for or against such ballot measures.

The commission will meet at least four times and must report its findings and any recommendations by Sept. 1, 2018.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.