BILLINGS, Mont. — Former state representative Debra Lamm of Livingston has been elected chairwoman of the Montana Republican Party.

The Billings Gazette reports ( Lamm was selected Saturday during gathering of party delegates in Billings to succeed Jeff Essman, who is a candidate for mayor in Billings.

Lamm outpolled conservative radio host Aaron Flint, who was serving as state director for U.S. Rep. Ryan Zinke, and George Paul, the former leader of the Cascade County Republican Central Committee.

Lamm said she would focus on growing party participation at the local level as well as raising money to support campaigns.

Ravalli County Republican Chairman Terry Nelson was elected vice-chair. Secretary Kris Hansen of Havre was re-elected as were treasurer Mike Hopkins of Missoula and assistant treasurer Dave Lewis of Helena.

Information from: The Billings Gazette,

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.