PHILADELPHIA — The Philadelphia Association of Black Journalists has named Associated Press reporter Errin Haines Whack its print journalist of the year.

NBC 10 reporter Aundrea Cline-Thomas received the award for broadcast. Philadelphia Inquirer reporter Sofiya Ballin won the honor for online journalists.

The award is given for work considered extraordinary in depth, scope or significance to African-Americans or other black people of African descent.

The 39-year-old Whack joined the AP’s Philadelphia bureau in 2015 as an urban affairs writer and is a member of the news cooperative’s national race and diversity reporting team. Over the past year she has reported on gun violence, the black electorate, the 2016 election and tensions between police and black communities in America.

PABJ, the founding chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists, announced its annual winners Tuesday.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.