KNOXVILLE, Tenn. — Emma Kate Hall of Lebanon, Sydney Peay of Spring Hill and Blake Turpin of Knoxville join Nebraska resident Grace Neiman as 2017 winners of the University of Tennessee’s Peyton Manning Scholarships.

The Manning Scholarships are for incoming freshmen to the Haslam Scholars Program, Tennessee’s premier honors program. The scholarships are given out each year based on leadership, academic achievement and community service.

The four latest winners were announced Friday at a ceremony that included Manning, a former Tennessee quarterback and five-time NFL Most Valuable Player.

Neiman is from Guardian Angels Central Catholic in West Point, Nebraska. Hall graduated from Lebanon High School. Peay is from Summit High School. Turpin went to Gibbs High School.

The scholarships cover nearly the full cost of tuition during the students’ time at Tennessee.

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.