Three county groups receive state commission grants

The Indiana Arts Commission recently announced that more than 400 community-based arts providers and individual artists throughout Indiana, including three in Jackson County, will receive grants in 2018.

During its June 16 quarterly business meeting in Indianapolis, the commission approved grant allocations totaling more than $3.03 million in state and federal funds for grants and programs provided by arts organizations and cultural providers throughout the state, including grants to individual artists.

The majority of the grants approved by the commission, totaling more than $2.29 million, will be distributed through the commission’s 11 regions to small and mid-sized organizations.

In Jackson County, the grant recipients are Southern Indiana Center for the Arts, $7,356; Jackson County Community Theatre, $5,000; and Actors Community Theatre, $5,000.

Author photo
Aubrey Woods is editor of The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at or 812-523-7051.