State power agency honors Senators

State Sen. Eric Koch, R-Bedford, was named as a recipient of the 2017 Legislative Award from the Indiana Municipal Power Agency.

Koch, who represents all of Jackson County with the exception of Grassy Fork, Vernon, Washington and part of Redding townships, all of Brown and Lawrence counties and portions of Bartholomew and Monroe counties, was recognized during the agency’s monthly board meeting June 30.

In addition to Koch, State Sen. Jim Merritt, R-Indianapolis, also received the award.

Koch and Merritt authored Senate Enrolled Act 2 during the 2017 legislative session that updated the statute that originally created the IMPA in the early 1980s. The legislation was signed into law by Gov. Eric Holcomb on April 13.