FAIRBANKS, Alaska — Longtime Ice Alaska supporters Dick and Hoa Brickley plan to leave the organization after the 2018 BP World Ice Art Championships.

The Brickleys own the George Horner Ice Park on Phillips Field Road and have been involved in the international ice carving event for 28 years. The event has grown into a monthlong extravaganza that attracts dozens of top ice-carving teams.

The Ice Alaska Board of Directors announced the Brickleys’ retirement Monday on the Ice Alaska website.

Ice Alaska board president Hank Bartos said in an interview Tuesday that volunteers and an expanded board will take on running of the single block, multi-block and amateur competitions in 2018. The Brickleys will be responsible for the harvest of the ice blocks and building the slides, spinners and other attractions in the kids park.

As for the Ice Park facility, the nonprofit organization will pay the Brickleys rent — the amount has not been determined — to use the grounds and equipment this year, Bartos said. Ice Alaska doesn’t have the money to buy the facility.

“We don’t have any money right now. What we’re trying to do is put on the event,” he said.

“The Brickleys have always kind of done everything with the help of volunteers, but now that responsibility is shifting from the Brickleys to the board of directors and volunteers.”

Monday’s announcement of the Brickleys’ retirement thanked them for “countless (and many thankless) hours on a daily basis, unimaginable and unbelievable financial support, an unwavering love for, and dedication to, the event, the artists, the volunteers, and this community.”

Information from: Fairbanks (Alaska) Daily News-Miner, http://www.newsminer.com

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.