The Seymour USBC won the State District Challenge on Nov. 5 at the Blue River bowling Center in Shelbyville. Teams consisted of Board Members and Life Members from local associations across the state.

Sixteen teams participated representing the nine districts in Indiana.

The tournament format consisted of all bowlers, on the team bowling, playing two complete games to seed the teams for a double elimination tournament, which used a Baker format.

After bowling the two qualifying games, Seymour was seeded sixth.

Kent Thompson from Seymour had the high qualifying game of all bowlers with a 268.

In the first round of the playoffs, Seymour defeated Elwood 180-160. They then defeated Franklin #1 199-168 in the second round.

In the third round, Seymour defeated Attica #215-144. In the fourth round Seymour was sent to the losers bracket by Attica #1 223-180.

Seymour then defeated Greater Calumet 182-171 to reach the finals.

In the final against Attica #1, Seymour won 183-168 and 201-188 to become state champions.

Those representing Seymour were Starla Miller, Doug Ray, Bill Barr, Kent Thompson, Shawn Franklin and Bob Klosterman.

This was the first time a team representing District IX had won the tournament in its 19 years of existence.

By winning the tournament, Seymour will be able to host association for next year’s tournament.

While it was Seymour’s first championship, they had finished second twice and third twice in past tournaments.

On Oct. 1, Seymour won the District IX Challenge held at Columbus Bowling Center.

After two qualifying games, Seymour was seeded second behind Columbus. In the first round of the playoffs, Seymour topped Orange County 213-162. Seymour then bested Columbus 216-176.

In the championship match, Orange County defeated Seymour 203-202 to force a final game, which Seymour took 180-172.

Author photo
Jordan Morey is sports editor at The (Seymour) Tribune. He can be reached at or 812-523-7069.