PROVIDENCE, R.I. — Rhode Island’s minimum wage has climbed from $9.60 an hour to $10.10.
The increase took effect Monday for the start of the new year.
Lawmakers approved increasing the state’s minimum wage by 90 cents within two years in 2017. It rises to $10.50 in January 2019.
Proponents argued that the increases were necessary to keep pace with neighboring states.
The minimum wage in Massachusetts will remain at $11 for 2018. It increased by $1 for each of the last three years because of a 2014 law. There’s a bill pending that calls for an increase to $15. If it doesn’t pass, proponents say they’ll try to put it on the ballot in November.
Connecticut’s minimum wage is currently $10.10. Proposals to raise it further stalled in the last legislative session.