FLOYD, Iowa — Officials in northeastern Iowa have released the names of all officers and deputies at the scene of the fatal shooting of a Minneapolis man, but have refused to say which officers fired their guns.

Bremer County Attorney Kasey Wadding told the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier that he was “not ready to disclose” which officers fired their guns or which ones delivered the fatal shot.

Officials say 29-year-old Jihad Merrick died after being shot Jan. 17 on Highway 218. Officials have said two officers fired on Merrick after he hit an officer with his car.

Wadding’s office says the officials involved were Iowa State troopers Nathaniel Miller, Chris Forsyth and Ken Haut; Bremer County Sheriff’s Deputy Glenn Beenblossom; Nashua Police Chief Travis Marvin and Officer Benjamin Scholl; and Chickasaw County Sheriff’s Deputy Adam Hanson.

Information from: Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier, http://www.wcfcourier.com

Author photo
The AP is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, as a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members, it can maintain its single-minded focus on newsgathering and its commitment to the highest standards of objective, accurate journalism.