Archdiocese cuts number of parishes

The archdiocese of Indianapolis will decrease the number of parishes in southern Indiana from 30 to 20 due to shifting populations in area communities.

One of those changes, announced June 7 by Archbishop Joseph Tobin, will see a parish presently located in the Batesville Deanery consolidated with a parish in the Seymour Deanery.

St. Mary Magdalene Parish in New Marion in Ripley County will merge into Prince of Peace in Madison, effective Dec. 1, Pastor Dan Staublin said. Staublin serves St. Ambrose Catholic Church in Seymour and is dean of the Seymour Deanery.

So far, parishes in Jackson County have not faced a review, a process that likely will take place until next year.


This story appears in the print edition of The Tribune. Subscribers can read the entire story online by signing in here or in our e-Edition by clicking here.

All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.