College scholarships available for county students

By Tribune staff reports

The Heritage Fund — Community Foundation of Bartholomew County reports there are 11 scholarships for which residents of Jackson County may be eligible.

The scholarships include:

  • The Bartholomew County REMC Scholarship, for members of any Bartholomew County REMC household.
  • The Columbus Herb Society Scholarship, for students majoring in horticulture, botany or culinary arts.
  • The Dr. Cleve James Francoeur Jr. Memorial Scholarship, for a student who will be attending or is enrolled in Indiana University’s School of Medicine.
  • The Goldie Gibson Memorial Scholarship, for students who participated in the Head Start Program as preschoolers.
  • The Myron Glick Memorial Scholarship, for students attending Purdue University and whose family’s primary income is from farming.
  • The Waldo M. and Madge C. Harrison Scholarship, for individuals who work at Four Seasons Retirement Center.
  • Students majoring in education at the undergraduate and graduate levels may apply for the Earl E. and Mildred L. Bless Hudson Scholarship for Education.
  • The Marvin Johnson Scholarship, for children or spouses of employees of trucking companies or independent contractors affiliated with a trucking company.
  • Students majoring in any form of journalism may apply for the Bob Marshall–Bob Gordon Memorial Scholarship for Journalism.
  • The One Step at a Time Scholarship, for students enrolled in the medical programs at the Columbus campus of Harrison College (formerly Indiana Business College), graduates of Harrison College pursuing a further degree in the health care field or students who have received their GED certification and plan to pursue a technical, associate’s or bachelor’s degree.
  • The Dr. and Mrs. Edward L. Probst Medical School Scholarship, for students attending medical school.

The full criteria and ­applications for these scholarships are available at the foundation’s website, ­­ Questions may be directed to Chrissy Alspaugh, scholarship manager, 812-376-7772 or Heritage Fund is at 538 Franklin St., Columbus, IN.

Completed applications must be received by the Heritage Fund office, not postmarked, no later than 4 p.m. Feb. 15.

All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.