Distance: Johnson sets course record, boys place second


Tribune photo by Arv Koontz/ Seymour junior Jack Tormoehlen, right, holds a narrow lead over Aaron Zollman of Bedford North Lawrence during Saturday's Hoosier Hills Conference cross-country meet at North Vernon. Tormoehlen placed third, and Zollman was fourth.

Tribune photo by Arv Koontz/ Seymour junior Zoey Johnson builds up her lead during Saturday's Hoosier Hills Conference cross-country meet at North Vernon. Johnson placed first in 19:18 and won the race by 58 seconds.

NORTH VERNON — At Saturday’s Hoosier Hills Conference cross-country meet, Seymour junior Zoey Johnson was hoping for a good time and a high finish.

Johnson accomplished both goals by placing first out of 56 girls and setting the course record in helping the team finish third.

Floyd Central won the eight-team meet with 32 points, New Albany scored 74 and Seymour had 98.

Bedford North Lawrence placed three runners in the top seven in winning the boys meet with 34 points, Seymour was second with 77 and Floyd Central was third with 82.

“It was a great day. I had a good run,” Johnson said. “I ran on this course in middle school, my eighth-grade year, so it’s been a while. I knew it was probably going to be wet because of the rain and stuff, and I just wanted to go out and win, and I wanted a good time. I really didn’t get the time I was aiming for, but I felt good, I had a good race and I’m happy with it.”

Her time of 19:18 broke the former course record by three seconds.

“I had a very good start. I just tried to get out fast and get my position up in the front and stay with those girls,” Johnson said. “The whole course is basically little hills. There are a bunch of turns. You definitely had to watch the turns because it got pretty muddy back in (the woods).”

This story appears in the print edition of The Tribune. Subscribers can read the entire story online by signing in here or in our e-Edition by clicking here.

All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.