Miss Basketball, All-Star team announced

Indiana Miss Basketball Whitney Jennings of Logansport is one of 13 players selected for the 2014 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Star team.

The 5-foot-5 senior guard received 177 votes in the Miss Basketball balloting to capture the top individual honor for the state’s girls basketball players. Maura Muensterman of Evansville Mater Dei collected 97 votes to finish as runner-up. No other player received more than 10 votes.

Jennings, a University of Iowa recruit, averaged 32 points, eight rebounds, 7.4 assists and five steals in leading Logansport to a 24-3 record that included North Central Conference, sectional and regional championships.

Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The remainder of the team is finalized by

All-Star game director Charlie Hall after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each can recommend up to 12 players.

Others chosen to the Indiana team are Muensterman, Kayla Brown of Westfield, Sydney Buck of Homestead, Caroline Buhr of Penn, Danielle Cuttino of Ben Davis, Kindell Fincher of Fort Wayne Canterbury, Tayler Goodall of Columbus North, Alex Hochstedler of Fishers, Erica Moore of Mt. Vernon (Fortville), Lauren Whitlatch of Bloomington South and Ana Owens and Destiny Washington of Lawrence North.

The head coach is Eric Thornton of Norwell. He will be assisted by Amy Brauman of Brownsburg and Gretchen Miles of Washington.

The Senior All-Stars will play exhibitions against the Indiana Junior All-Stars on June 9 and 11 and home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars on June 13 and 14.

The sites for the exhibitions haven’t been determined, but Indiana will face Kentucky on June 13 at Transylvania University in Lexington, Ky., and June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. All four dates will be doubleheaders with the Indiana Boys All-Stars.

The first boys game was in 1939 when they played state-champion Frankfort, and the series with Kentucky began in 1940. The girls event was added in 1976.

All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.