Owls squad reflects on resilient season


Tribune photo by Dennis Dunn/ Seymour High School girls basketball players receiving awards during Thursday night's program were, seated from left, Logan Personett, Brianna Gillaspy and Paxton DeHaven; standing from left, Sidney Carr, Taylor Gossett and Abby Thompson.

Change is sometimes difficult to comprehend, and this season, the Seymour High School girls basketball team endured that with a new head coach in Jason Longmeier.

From day one, he told the girls that change was difficult, and the five seniors had one season to learn his system.

On Thursday night in the school’s cafeteria, the Owls conducted their awards program. Longmeier said he doesn’t give out a most valuable player award, but he gave out several other honors.

Senior Sidney Carr received the offensive player of the year award, which is based solely on statistics from the season. Carr finished with 230 points.

“She went from starter to being the first player off the bench,” Longmeier said.

This story appears in the print edition of The Tribune. Subscribers can read the entire story online by signing in here or in our e-Edition by clicking here.

All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.