Two receive scholarships from Franklin College

Eighty-three high school seniors from across the country participated in the Ben Franklin Scholars competition Dec. 3 to 8 at Franklin College.

Two Jackson County students, Caylie Guinn of Seymour High School and Chandler R. Nehrt of Crothersville High School, received Trustees Scholarships in the four-year amount of $56,000.

Students visited the campus to interview with Franklin College faculty and receive consideration for top academic scholarships, including the full-tuition

Benjamin Franklin Scholarship that totals about $118,000 over four years.

A total of $1.28 million was awarded, which is a four-year total of $5.13 million.

Founded in 1834, Franklin College is a residential four-year undergraduate liberal arts institution, offering its approximately 1,000 students 28 majors, 36 minors and eight pre-professional programs.

In 1842, the college began admitting women, becoming the first coeducational institution in Indiana and the seventh in the nation. The college maintains a voluntary association with the American Baptist Churches USA.


All content copyright ©2016 The Tribune, a publication of AIM Media Indiana unless otherwise noted.
All rights reserved. Click here to read our privacy policy.